When will we know the truth of Poe's death? Well, the man said it himself...nevermore. Scott, Kristy, and Amber talk about his weird life and mysterious death as SPoOoOokyween continues. 

WE HAVE MERCH! And lots of it. New designs coming soon, so keep an eye on the shop! https://www.redbubble.com/people/oldtimeycrimey/shop

Don't forget to follow the show FBInsta, or Twitter. Come check out the Patreon and see what extras you can get for a few bucks a months! Or check out our Amazon Wishlist to buy us a book--making the episode topic YOUR CHOICE! 

Music:

Evil Plan by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3725-evil-plan
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Breaktime by Kevin MacLeod
Link: https://incompetech.filmmusic.io/song/3457-breaktime
License: http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by/4.0/

Sources:

Natasha Geiling.  Smithsonian Magazine. “The (Still) Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe.” https://www.smithsonianmag.com/history/still-mysterious-death-edgar-allan-poe-180952936/

Kat Eschner. Smithsonian Mag. https “Who Was the Poe Toaster? We Still Have No Idea”  http://www.smithsonianmag.com/smart-news/who-was-poe-toaster-we-still-have-no-idea-180961820/

The Poe Museum. https://www.poemuseum.org/poes-biography

Findagrave. https://www.findagrave.com/memorial/4074/elizabeth-hopkins-poe

Wikipedia. “Sarah Royster.” https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sarah_Elmira_Royster

New England Historical Society. “Sarah Helen Whitman, Providence Poet Who Dumped Edgar Allan Poe.” https://www.newenglandhistoricalsociety.com/sarah-helen-whitman-providence-poet-dumped-edgar-allan-poe/

Poetry Foundation. “Sarah Helen Whitman.” https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/sarah-helen-whitman

Wash times. 'Toaster' rejects French cognac at Poe's grave.” https://www.washingtontimes.com/news/2004/jan/19/20040119-100633-6879r/

Providence Athenaeum . “Poe & Whitman.” https://providenceathenaeum.org/about/history/poe-whitman/

The Edgar Allan Poe Society of Baltimore. “The Mysterious Death of Edgar Allan Poe” https://www.eapoe.org/geninfo/poedeath.htm

Michele Debcsack. “Baltimore’s New Poe Toaster Honors Edgar Allan Poe.” Mental Floss. https://www.mentalfloss.com/article/73908/baltimores-new-poe-toaster-honors-edgar-allan-poe

 

https://www.pbs.org/newshour/health/edgar-allan-poes-greatest-mystery-was-his-death

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Death_of_Edgar_Allan_Poe

https://www.poemuseum.org/poes-death

https://www.biography.com/news/edgar-allan-poe-death-facts

https://www.history.com/news/how-did-edgar-allan-poe-die

Britannica.com

openculture.com

icytales.com

nbc12.com

biography.com

nps.gov

 

Share | Download(Loading)